Skip to content

What Is the Essential Eight Maturity Model

The Essential Eight Maturity Model is a framework developed by the Australian Cyber Security Centre to guide organizations in improving their cybersecurity posture.

The model consists of eight mitigation strategies, including application control, patching applications, patching operating systems, privileged access management, endpoint protection, data backup, limiting lateral movement, and multi-factor authentication. The model is designed to help organizations assess their current level of maturity in implementing these strategies and provides guidance on steps to take to improve their cybersecurity posture. The mitigation strategies are considered essential because they can effectively address the most common cyber threats.

The Essential Eight Maturity Model

  • Mitigation strategies
  • patching applications
  • patching operating systems
  • privileged access management
  • endpoint protection
  • data backup
  • limiting lateral movement
  • multi-factor authentication

“Cybersecurity is and will increasingly be one of the main challenges facing businesses. Frameworks like the Essential 8 provide business, small and large, with baselines to understand their cybersecurity maturity and put steps in place to increase protection on their systems” Vickie Jeffery, Head of Technology

Originally sourced from: Cyber Insurance Comparison 

Reference: Australian Cyber Security Centre

Contact Us

Prefer to speak with someone? Give us a call on 1300 587 225. 

Request a Call Back

Simply enter your details below, and we’ll give you a call right back!